Menu Close

Miroslav Bukovsky, Paul McNamara, Fabian Hevia and Lachlan Coventry come together with a new original composition and free jazz improvisations in response to Nicole Ellis’ survey show – Fabrications.

The music evokes luminous meditations alongside interesting textural sounds layered and collaged together.

Miroslav Bukovsky is a distinguished jazz trumpeter, composer, arranger and educator. He spent 6 years in Conservatorium classical studies in Czechoslovakia and moved to Australia in 1968. Studied at the Sydney Conservatorium Jazz Studies becoming a member of faculty; 1981-82 Australia Council funded study in USA, New York and Indiana University; 1999 Commenced full time teaching position at the Canberra School of Music (later ANU School of Music), teaching trumpet, improvisation, composition, arranging and ensemble performance. 2003-2004 Head of Jazz Department at, ANU School of Music, and has continued limited teaching at ANU School of Music, as a Distinguished Artist in Residence since.

He has perfomed in numerous settings: from the Ricky May Band; in the supporting band for Thelonious Monk in 1972; Daly Wilson Big Band; Macia Hines Band; with Renee Geyer; Bruce Cale’s Band; Ernie Watts; Bob Bertles; KMA Orchestra; Mark Simmonds Free Boppers; Mighty Reapers and Dynamic Hepnotics; with Roger Frampton/Phil Treloar group; Carl Orr’s group; he played lead trumpet backing Ginger Rogers; Jackie Orszaczky’s Jump Back Jack; founding member of John Pochee’s Ten Part Invention; Emil Viklicky and his Trio, Australian Art Orchestra, Alex Stuart Quintet, Komeda Project with Andrea Keller, Bennie Maupin, Divergence Orchestra and the Kinetic Orchestra, Performed as trumpet soloist accompanying Anne Sofie von Otter CIMF. Performed and co-ordinated music concerts at The Drill Hall Gallery, ANU: Including performances with Miroslav Bukovsky Quartet, Michelle Nicolle and Ronny Ferella, Emil Viklicky, John Mackey, Simone de Haan, Adam Simmonds and Richard Johnson.

Miroslav has toured and performed at the Berlin Jazz Festival, Aarhus Jazz Festival, North Sea Jazz Festival, Montreux Jazz Festival, Nice Jazz Festival, Victoria/Gasteiz Festival, the Rome Jazz Festival, Chicago Jazz Festival, Wangaratta Jazz Festival, Capital Jazz Festival, Canberra International Music Festival, and the SoundOut Festival 2016-2018, Prague jazz clubs with Emil Viklicky’s Trio, and a Festival tour in Portugal.

Lachlan Coventry is a working musician and teacher of some 25 years, having performed both as a freelance guitarist and as a member of bands including: The Wedded Bliss (country trio), Fire on the Hill (original experimental rock band) and as a bassist for Julia and the Deep Sea Sirens. As a jazz guitarist he has played with many notable performers including: James Morrison, John Morrison, Bernie McGann, Alan Turnbull, Daryl Pratt, Anita Waddell and opened for Larry Carlton at his Canberra show. He holds an honours degree in jazz guitar performance and is currently studying for a PhD in creative compositional and practice techniques for jazz guitar.

Paul McNamara has spent many years teaching jazz improvisation at Sydney Conservatorium, Sydney University and Australian National University. Apart from his own band, Point of No Return, which toured India for Musica Viva, he has played with many of Australia’s finest jazz bands, including with Don Burrows, Galapados Duck and Ten Part Invention. He has released two recordings on Rufus Records – Conversations (solo piano) and Point of No Return as well as many other collaborations.

Fabian Hevia arrived in Australia in 1973 as a young refugee from Chile. He studied percussion at the University of Wollongong and later the Jazz studies
at the Sydney Conservatorium. Fabian is in demand as a recording artist and a music educator. He toured extensively with Wanderlust and the catholics in Europe and
Australia. He also leads his excellent group Far Beyond.
Image: Install Shot of Nicole Ellis – Fabrications, by Rob Little.

The Drill Hall Gallery acknowledges the Ngunnawal and Ngambri peoples, the traditional custodians of the Canberra region, and recognises their continuous connection to culture, community and Country.